St Peter & St Paul School was founded in 1944 by Miss Elizabeth Branson. At that time the school was situated in Worksop and had six pupils. Later the school moved to Cresswell and then to the Old Vicarage, Eckington in the 1960s. After Eckington the school moved to Old Brampton situated in the Old School room and the Old Rectory where it stayed until 1978 when the school moved to the site at Penmore, Hasland. It was officially opened by the late Duchess of Devonshire on 21st May 1979.
1997 proved to be the most important year in our school's history. Brambling House was acquired and the whole school was moved here. Again, our patron the late Duchess of Devonshire officially opened the school on 21st October 1997.
Brambling House, is a unique historical gem within Chesterfield. Built by TP Wood in 1877 who was a wine merchant and had his premises where the old Littlewoods store and currently Primark store resides. He was the Mayor of the Borough three times and supervised the founding of his brainchild, Queen's Park to celebrate Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee. In order to help purchase " Maynard's Meadows" to create the park he held fundraising parties at his home and in the grounds of Brambling House.
Brambling House first became a school in 1938 when it was purchased by the Board of Education to turn into an open-air school and children's centre. It diagnosed and treated children who were experiencing difficulties in school or in their home life. It became known as The Frank Merrifield School after the first Headmaster and remained until it closed in 1988.
Today the school continues to thrive and flourish and the children and staff are enjoying planning the 75th Anniversary celebrations due in 2019.